I finallly started my blog…

So I’ve wanted to start a blog as I have been through a life changing year and one of the goals I set for myself is that I want to pay it forward and help inspire others. In the last year, I have lost 70 lbs and have found a love of CrossFit, There are so many things that have changed for me over the last year. When I sit and think back to where I was this time last year, I still have a hard to time believing it all.

One year ago I had gotten back up to being only 4 lbs away from my heaviest weight. I dreaded getting dressed and looking in the mirror because it hated what I saw. I was thankful that I worked at home because I didn’t have to face that mirror every morning if I didn’t want to. Sweats and Hoodies were my favorite because they were big, comfy, and hid everything I didn’t like about my physical self. As many people do, it was the beginning of a new year and I had been thinking about how I could make 2014 better. Looking in the mirror every day, hating what I saw, had taken its toll on me for the last time. A great friend of mine and been encouraging me to sign up for the On Ramp class at her Crossfit gym and I finally did it. I figured I had nothing to lose (except maybe some money if it didnt pan out). Before my first class I had sat down and really thought about all the things that I wanted to change. At that time, first and foremost, I wanted to lose weight. The weight wasn’t going to change unless I made some serious changes. I attended my first On Ramp class and was wondering what I had gotten myself into. Not only was it a major reality check for where I had allowed myself to get, but it also showed me just how bad of shape I was in. For the next 4 days, I couldn’t sit without the most intense soreness I had ever felt. Squats. Holy Squats! I think I figured out that I had completed over 100 squats in that first class. I was in for some serious work. Throughout the rest of the month I had endured what at the time I called pure hell. But I knew that that hell was exactly what I needed. Once On Ramp was over, I started attended regular classes. I would check the website to see what the WOD (Workout of the day) and start googling what it meant. Then I would enter pure fear and anxiety mode. Sh*t. Am I going to make it through? What if I can’t do it? Am I really cut out for CrossFit?

At the end of February, it was the start of the Open. My friend had encouraged me to sign up and I waited to just hours before the deadline to do it. I figured what the heck, why not. BEST. DECISION. EVER. The Open is what officially hooked me on CrossFit. I had met a bunch of amazing athletes, had people cheer for me even when I was clearly the worst athlete (according to my scores), and most of them had never met me before. Where in life do you find that? Nowhere I’ve ever been! In those 5 weeks, I had learned what the community was all about and how truly amazing these people were. From there on, I have walked in the gym ready to give it my all, no matter how much I thought I was going to suck at it. The WODs got less scary as time went on. Don’t get me wrong, I still look at them some days and think, oh no! But I’ve learned that the WODs that tend to do that are the ones I shouldn’t miss because they will force me to face my weaknesses and the only way to get better is by working on them.

At the end of March, I decided to meet with one of our coaches, who is also a nutritionist. I had a pretty good idea what I was in for based on other friends’ experiences, but was I ready? I used to tell my friend that got me into all this that I give her so much credit for eating Paleo and how I never thought I could do it. Working with Jen on nutrition was easier than I thought. I was ready for change and if I didnt see the changes I was looking for, then I could always stop going, right? Switching to Paleo wasn’t easy but it wasn’t as challenging as I thought it was going to be….for the most part. To this day, the only time I find it to be challenging is when I had to eat out or at someone else’s house. The best way to sum up eating Paleo – WILLPOWER! LOTS of Willpower! I had never viewed myself as a strong person, despite people telling me otherwise. But this journey has proven to me that I am strong! I have done so many things over this last year that I still can’t believe.

This fall I ran two 5K races. The first one was the first one I had done where I ran the whole thing. The second one was a PR for me by 34 seconds! I also ran my first Turkey Trot. That was a long race, but I did it! I’ve always wanted to be good at running, and know that I am not, but the only way to get better? Run! Keep CrossFitting. Keep eating right. All those things together will get me to where I want to go.

I walked in the doors at CrossFit716 wanting to lose weight. I learned quickly that I wanted so much more than that. Watching my body transform over the last year has been nothing short of amazing and incredible. What I wasn’t expecting is how much it has changed me mentally. I find myself less afraid to try new things. I am the most confident I think I have ever been. I feel that it has made me a better person, a better wife, a better friend, and a better mother.

So as I approach the one year mark in my journey, I am down 70 pounds. 70 POUNDS! Isn’t that crazy?!?!?! If you had asked me this time last year if I thought I could be what I am today, I would have laughed at you. While I have not yet hit my ultimate weight loss goal, I can see it on the horizon. I’ve come this far and I will not give up! Even if I wanted to, I have a great support system that will stop at nothing to make sure I don’t give up! You can’t put a price on that!

My goal in starting this blog is that I can pass along some good words of wisdom, inspiration, and advice to those who are where I was or those who have given up and want to try again, or even those who just need motivation to keep on their journey. I would not be where I am today if it weren’t for the support system I have and I am truly grateful for everyone in my life, every day! So thanks for helping me be the best me I can be.

3 thoughts on “I finallly started my blog…

  1. This is awesome! I am glad you have decided to do this. I can attest from first hand experience that you are an inspiration and you do pay it forward. This blog will allow you to reach so many more people. Having witnessed your journey this year has been nothing short of amazing. I am proud to call you my friend!

Leave a Reply

