One Year into my journey

Today marks my 1 year CrossFit Anniversary. But it’s so much more than that for me. Since 1/6/14 I have accomplished so many things:
1. Started CrossFit at CrossFit716
2. Transitioned to a Paleo Lifestyle
3. Lost 70 lbs
4. Ran an entire 5K for the first time
5. PR’ed my 5K time twice
6. Ran in my first Turkey Trot
7. Was named Athlete of the Month in September 2014 at my gym
8. Participated in my first CrossFit Competition
9. Participated in my first CrossFit Open
10. Learned how to Rappel
11. Went from a size 18/20 to a 10/12
12. No longer have to shop in the Plus Size section
13. Am more confident
14. Am starting to love myself for the first time in a very long time

There are not enough words to verbalize what this year has meant to me. I have learned so much about myself and my potential. My self esteem is the highest I think it has ever been. I have made some amazing friends and have the most amazing support system. I wouldn’t be sitting here celebrating this moment if it wasn’t for all the amazing people in my life who never gave up on me, and pushed me, especially when I didn’t think I had any push left in me.

For those who are starting out, my advice would be to not let the bumps in the road stop you from pushing forward. I guarantee that you are capable of so much more than you realize. Don’t let one bad day or one bad workout become a bad week, etc. Every day is a new day. Big goals are important, but small goals are even more important. They keep you on track and allow you to celebrate along the way to reaching your big goals.

I used to find every excuse I could not to go to the gym. Now, I have to talk myself into cancelling when I can’t go because I feel guilty not going and actually miss not going. I didn’t realize how bad of shape I was in and how unhealthy I really was until I started this journey. I think back to how I used to live and it scares me. It scares me to think how many people live like that, or worse, and don’t even realize just how bad it is.

For the first time in my life – I feel like a real athlete. I played a couple sports in high school and never felt like the athlete I feel like now. I even got Athlete of the Month at my gym one month!

This has been the toughest and one of the most rewarding years of my life. I have learned so much about who I am and who I want to be. More importantly, I am a healthier mom to my two amazing boys.

I see this quote frequently, and I absolutely think it is true!
“Nobody said that it would be easy, they just said it would be worth it”
All my hard work, sweat, frustration, dedication, and perseverance has absolutely been worth it! If I knew just how this was going to feel, I probably would have done this a long time ago. You can’t put a price tag on this feeling!

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you to everyone who has helped me in any way to get where I am today. My journey is not over. It has only begun.